Zero Christmas Presents Next Year

tmp_kid-happily-open-the-Christmas-gift-88999040

I’m guessing the title of this blog got your attention. How many of you can imagine a #Christmas without exchanging gifts? Does the idea bother you? Yes? Then you’re meant to read on.

Sadly, every year many people see the Christmas holiday approaching and their shoulders tighten. They remember last year’s task of figuring out what to buy everyone, long check out lines, the nervousness of hoping they chose the right gift, and so on and so on. Even before the biggest holiday of the year is actually here they’re already weighed down by unnecessary stress.
It’s really a shame.

I’ve heard on the news many times, “….burgular has stolen Christmas from another family”.

Stolen Christmas?

As a Christian, I have a problem with that phrase. Christmas is not something that can be stolen. It’s the celebration of Christ’s birth. Can you take that from anyone? Of course not. That’s the problem with the zombie-like, “must buy presents” mentality. We’re slaves to materialism!

How about we take the words of Christ to heart? Matthew 6:33 says, “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need”.

Two things are important here.

First, seek His Kingdom above all else. We need to ask ourselves, “Am I focused on His Kingdom above all else or are presents, people, candy canes, celebrations and lights in the first-place position in my heart?”

Be honest!

Second, notice the verse ends with “…and he will give you everything you need”. Christ didn’t say He’d supply a PS4, a new sports car or a Hawaiian vacation as a result of our dedication to seeking His Kingdom. God is telling us here that our needs are a higher priority to Him than our wants. Obviously, we should mirror His perspective- God first, needs second and then wants….maybe.

Picture a world where this was reality. Instead of long lines at retail stores we’d see those lines at the soup kitchens, waiting to help the needy. People would camp out in front of their Church waiting for Christmas service, not in front of Macey’s eager to get their hands on the latest name-brand purses. Families would not continue sinking deeper into credit card debt. They’d pay cash to buy a homeless family an entire wardrobe instead.

Man, I’d love to see this kind of economic prosperity in our country. Wouldn’t you?

I would love to see a world where Christmas isn’t a source of stress but tranquility, unselfish acts, and the celebration of Christ’s birth.

AD_93889_SANTAJESUS

The decision to go without buying presents at Christmas can affect your bottom line grately. Think of what you spent this Christmas season on gadgets, gifts, toys, clothes, wrapping paper, ribbons, fuel, time, etc. Now add that number your current bank account balance. Wouldn’t you rather that total be in your account right now in case something major rears its ugly head? Or you could put it towards paying off a credit card, paying on a loan or paying extra on the monthly rent at you apartment. That would be a Frugal Lifestyle decision that helps reduce stress and would eventually lead to financial Freedom.

A No-Presents Christmas also sets an example to the following generation. They’d understnad that God being born as a human baby is the resaon for Christmas. They’d learn to focus on the Ultimate Gift they’ve already been given, not the material gifts they’re expecting.

A no-presents Christmas is also a great way to weed out those “what did you bring me?” people. You know, the ones that are only interested in what they can squeeze out of you? We all have them in our lives. But, telling everyone that there will be zero Christmas presents next year will also expose the cream of the crop. Those who actually care about you will say things like, “Spending time with you is present enough”. Those are the ones you hang onto!

As 2013 comes to a close let’s start imagining a stress free, laid-back, relaxing, Christ-centered Christmas for 2014. After all, we’re celebrating HIS biryhday, right?

Prayerfully consider a “no-presents Christmas”.

4 thoughts on “Zero Christmas Presents Next Year

  1. Audrey

    I am 100% with you on this. I was able to spend Christmas with my family this year (it was the first Christmas together since our brother died of cancer in 2012) and as much as I enjoyed it and was so blessed to be with them I was sort of embarrassed that I didn’t buy anything for anyone.
    For all the nieces and nephews instead of buying presents I bought a craft so that it was more about the time spent with them than the present itself.
    I remember going 2 Christmas’s without having anything under the Christmas Tree for my 3 younger children and it ripped my heart out. But since then God has shown me that if Christmas is truly about Christ then why not give of yourself and time throughout the year.

    So that is what I do. I give of my time, which is something we never get back, and money when God calls me to do it, throughout the year to those that need it. Therefore, I have Christmas all year long and I absolutely LOVE it!

    After this Christmas I think my family now knows that when it comes to Christmas time it really is not about the presents but the time I get to spend with them.

    Great post and here is to 2014 with no presents, just the presence of the Holy Spirit!

    Be Blessed,
    Audrey

    Reply
    1. bbminister Post author

      Thanks for the thoughtful reply. I love that you’re more focused on loving God & loving people. Very sorry to hear about your brother. That’s always a tough situation. I’m glad God is doing a work in you. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

      Reply
  2. SavvyJames

    While we have not reached the point of no gifts, the wife and I have decided to reduce the number of gifts given and focus more on volunteering during the Thanksgiving – Christmas season.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

